From the Chairs

Dr. Somenath Biswas

IIIT- Allahabad

Dr. Somenath Biswas obtained his B.Tech (Electronics and Electrical Communication Engg.) from IIT Kharagpur in 1973, M.Tech and Ph.D in Computer Science, both from IIT Kanpur, in 1976 and in 1980, respectively. Currently, he is the Director of Indian Institute of Information Technology Allahabad, India. Before joining the IIIT Allahabad, he was the Sanjay and Rachna Pradhan Chaired Professor at IIT Kanpur. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India. He has been a Visiting Associate Professor at the Aarhus University (1989) and a Visiting Professor at University of Nebraska, Lincoln (1999). He has been the Department Head (1986-87, 1995-97), and the Dean, Faculty Affairs (2005-07), IIT Kanpur. He has been the President of the Indian Association for Research in Computing Science (2000-2002). He has supervised 4 PhD and about 45 MTech theses. His research interest includes computational complexity theory, randomized algorithms, computational biology and logic in computer science.

Dr. Animesh Biswas


Dr. Animesh Biswas is working as a Professor in Department of Electrical Engineering of Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India. He received his PhD, M.Tech and B.E. from Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur and University of Calcutta respectively. He also worked as the Post Doctoral Researcher at Oregon State University, USA. He is a senior member of IEEE and presently serving as the Chair-person of IEEE Uttar Pradesh Section.

Dr. Sri Niwas Singh


Dr. Sri Niwas Singh received the Ph.D. degree from the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India. He is currently a Professor with the Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur. His research interests include power quality and power system restructuring. He is a senior member of IEEE and also served as the Chair-person of the IEEE Uttar Pradesh Section. Presently, he is the Conference & Technical Seminar Coordinator of R10, IEEE. He is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (India), the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (India), and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (U.K.).